2020 Hesburgh Award winners present their vision for leadership excellence

In May 2020, the TIAA Institute announced that Shirley A. Reed, president of South Texas College, and Joseph E. Aoun, president of Northeastern University, won the 2020 TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education. An independent panel of judges selected them for their visionary leadership and the profound impact they have had at their respective institutions.

In these informative video interviews, conducted by TIAA Institute Managing Director Anne Ollen, presidents Reed and Aoun discuss their leadership strategies and philosophies, key issues facing higher education today, and ways their institutions have prioritized and addressed urgent challenges.

Sponsored by the TIAA Institute and administered by the American Council on Education, the Hesburgh Award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., past president of the University of Notre Dame and longtime member of the TIAA and CREF Boards of Overseers. A world-renowned educator and humanitarian, Father Hesburgh (1917-2015) was a lifelong champion of human rights, the cause of peace, and care for the poor.  

Joseph Aoun, President of Northeastern University

 Shirley Reed, President of South Texas College