2020 TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award Ceremony

2020 TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award Ceremony

January 4, 2021

On January 4, 2021, the TIAA Institute announced the winners of the 2020 Samuelson Award. 

Ralph S.J. Koijen of The University of Chicago Booth School of Business and Stijn G. Van Nieuwerburgh of Columbia University won the award for their paper “Combining Life and Health Insurance” published in The Quarterly Journal of Economics. We named the winners at a special presentation during the 2021 virtual annual meeting of the Allied Social Science Associations.

The Samuelson Award, created in honor of the Nobel Prize-winning economist and former CREF Trustee, recognizes economic research that promotes Americans’ lifelong financial well-being. Since it was first given in 1996, the award has become the premier acknowledgement of excellence in research on financial security.

To learn more about the award and past recipients, visit our Awards page.