Diana Natalicio


Diana Natalicio

The University of Texas at El Paso

Diana Natalicio became UTEP’s president in 1988. During her tenure, UTEP’s enrollment has grown from 15,000 to more than 23,000 students, its annual budget from $65 million to nearly $450 million, annual research expenditures from $6 million to over $90 million, and doctoral programs from one to 21.

Diana has served on numerous boards including Hispanic Scholarship Fund, ACT, the Rockefeller Foundation, Trinity Industries, Sandia Corporation, U.S.-Mexico Foundation for Science, American Council on Education (chair), National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, and Internet 2.

She has received numerous honors and awards, including honorary doctoral degrees from Victoria University (Melbourne, Australia), Georgetown University, Smith College and the Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo Leon (Mexico). In 2016, she was honored with the Hispanic Heritage Award in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, and was included on the 2016 TIME 100 list of most influential people in the world. In 2015, the Carnegie Corporation of New York honored her with its prestigious Academic Leadership Award, and in 2011, she was presented with the Orden Mexicana del Aguila Azteca, the highest honor bestowed on foreign nationals by the President of Mexico. Diana also has received the TIAA Institute Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education and the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education.